E-mail this record:
Print this page
Click on + to expand the category and view details. To print the whole record you must first expand all categories.
Collapse panel 1. Cemetery Location & Access
Cemetery ID:  10144
Cemetery Name:  Skvyra Jewish Cemetery I (Old Cemetery)
Location Vis-À-Vis Above Named Town:  In center of town
Address 1:  Dzerzhinskogo, 32
Address 2: 
Latitude:  49.73920 
Longitude:  29.65927 
View this Cemetery in Google Maps
Accessed By:   
Details Of Access:  North-west area of the city, close to 32 Dzerzhinskogo street. There is an ohel at the site.
Area Map: 
Cemetery Opening Hours:  The owner of the house at 32 Dzerzhiskogo will open the ohel on request.
Currently In Use:  No
Collapse panel 2. Information on the Jewish Community
City/Town/Village Name:  Skvyra
Alternative Names:  Skver, Skvir, Skwere (Yiddish Transliteration), Skwira (Polish), Сквира - Skvira (Russian), Сквира - Skvyra (Ukrainian), סקווירא (Yiddish)
Country:  Ukraine
Region:  Skvyrskyi Raion - Kyiv Oblast
Latitude:  49.732222 
Longitude: 29.650833 
View this Town in Google Maps
Current General Population:  10000 - 25000
Current Jewish Population:  10 - 1000
Jews Of This Town Buried Elsewhere:  Unknown
Date Earliest Known Jewish Community:  18th century
Date Last Known Jewish Community:  n/a
Jewish Population Before World War II:  1000 - 5000
Noteworthy Historical Events Involving
Or Affecting The Jewish Community:  Skvyra's Jewish community is first mentioned in the records of the first half of the 18th century. In 1736, Haidamaks attacked one of the local Jewish tenants, beat him unmercifully and robbed him. According to the census of 1765, there were 124 houses in Skvyra, 51 of which belonged to Jews. In 1775, 116 Jews lived in Skvyra, in 1784 – 204, and in 1787 – 144. After Skvyra was included in the Pale of Settlement, the town’s Jewish community increased. In 1847, Jewish population amounted to 2,184 people, and in 1897 there were 8,910 Jews in the town (49.5% of the general population). At the end of the 19th century, there were 7 Jewish prayer houses, a parochial school, a hospital, a chemist and a district doctor in Skvyra. Many Jews were also involved in grain and timber export. By 1910 the town housed a Talmud Torah, a private boys’ school and two private girls’ schools. In 1912, the writer and ethnographer S. An-sky visited Skvyra as part of an ethnographic expedition. The results of his research, including collections of Jewish songs gathered during the expedition, can be found in the library of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. According to historian Yakov Iosifovich Gelman, the pogroms that affected other communities in the region in 1881 and 1905 did not reach Skvyra. However, two pogroms were carried out in the town in 1917 (23 October and towards the end of the year) and in 1919 the town was hit by a wave of six pogroms carried out by different gangs, some of which lasted for many weeks. There were robberies and rapes. Jewish property was seized and destroyed or sold to local peasants, and houses were burnt down. 191 people were killed and hundreds more injured, and many more died as the result of an epidemic which spread through the town after the pogroms, killing up to 30 people a day. The Jewish population fled to Kiev, Odessa and Belaya Tserkov. In 1926, the Jewish population of Skyvra was 4,681. According to local census, in 1939 2,243 Jews lived in Skvyra, which ranked among the biggest Jewish communities of Ukraine at that time. During the Second World War, the Sonderkommando headquarters was based in Skvyra for a time. On September 20, 1941, 850 Jews were shot in Skvyra. A few days later, over 140 more were executed. According to the head of Skvyra’s Jewish community, mass shootings of Jews took place in the vicinity of the market, the 2nd school and in Bannaya Street. After the war, Skvyra’s Jewish population totalled approximately 1,000 people; in 1960 – about 500 people.
Jews From This Town Are Also Known
To Be Buried In:   
Jews From This Town Are Also Known
To Be Buried Comments:  n/a
Jewish Community Denomination/s:   
Notable Natives Of The Local Jewish Community:  *Rabbi Itzhak of Skver, Menahem Nohum Tversky’s grandson (1812, Chernobyl – 1895, Skvyra), the founder of the Hasidic dynasty in Skvyra. *Ahad ha-Am, writer and publicist (pen-name meaning “one of the people”; real name Asher Hirsh Gintsberg) (1856, Skvyra – 1927, Tel Aviv). *Yosef Shapiro, Yiddish writer, the author of “Skvirer hurbn” (“Skvyra catastrophe”, 1924), “Vergangenheit” (“The Past”, short stories about the Jewish pogroms in Ukraine, 1925), “Moschichische Personlichkeiten” (“Messianic Personalities”, 1931) (1902, Skvyra – 1978, Tel Aviv). *David Lvovich Margulis, Hero of the Soviet Union (Skvyra, 1914 – 1993, St. Petersburg).
Additional Comments:  The Hasidic court of the Chernobyl dynasty was established in Skvyra at the beginning of the 1840s by Rabbi Itshak of Skver (1812-1885), one of the younger sons of Rabbi Motele Twersky (1770-1838). After Rabbi Itshak’s death, the court was headed by his son, Rabbi Avraam Yegoshua Geshel of Skver (1826-1886), and then by Rabbi Avraam’s son, Rabbi Moshe Dan of Skver (? - Kiev, 1920) and by his son, Rabbi Itshak of Skver (Skvyra, 1886 – Tel-Aviv, 1986). In the 1920s, after the pogroms, many Skver Hasids left Skvyra. The Skver Hasidic dynasty has continued to exist and grow in number in the United States, notably in the New Square (anglicisation of New Skvir) township in Rockland County, New York. After 1991, many Skver Hasids returned to Skvyra; in 2004 the synagogue and the tzaddik’s court were restored; there is now a hotel for Hasidic visitors in the tzaddik’s former residents. The Jewish community of Skvyra currently numbers 128 people.
View Local Places of Jewish Interest (currently no information for this site)
View Town/Jewish Community Data Sources (currently no information for this site)
View Distance from Other Towns (currently no information for this site)
Collapse panel 3. Location, Markers, Access & Security
Description Of Cemetery Location:  urban
Situated:  by water
Isolation Detail:  isolated
Additional Details:  The cemetery site is located next to the River Skvyra, on a hill. The ohel is located at the foot of the hill, next to a water pipeline belonging to the neighbouring brickyard which owns the cemetery land. The site is also adjacent to private dwellings.
Road / Entrance Sign:  No
Language Of Sign:   
Sign Text:  n/a
Photo Of Sign: 
Identifiable Features On Sign:   
The Sign Mentions:   
Cemetery Entrance:  no gate
Inscription On:   
Inscription Text:  n/a
Cemetery Boundary:  no wall or fence
Additional Comments:  The cemetery site is undemarcated and (apart from the ohel) unmarked. It is not possible to ascertain its boundaries.
The Cemetery Is Visited:   
Visited By:   
Current Owner Of Cemetery:  Private Individual
View Cemetery Contacts (currently no information for this site)
Collapse panel 4. Current Use / Condition Status / Cemetery Specific Characteristics
Collapse panel 5. Tombstones, Memorial Markers & Structures
Collapse panel 6. Burials Register
Collapse panel 7. Ecological Decay & Vandalism
Collapse panel 8. Maintenance & Restoration
Collapse panel 9. Protected Status
Collapse panel 10. Condition Report
Collapse panel 11. Details of Data Sources
Collapse panel 12. Additional Information

To submit corrections or further details on this record, please click here. Please remember to include the cemetery ID number, which can be found at the top of this record.