ZHASHKIV MASS GRAVE II (BAHVA MLYN MILL)
E-mail this record:
SEND
Print this page
Click on + to expand the category and view details. To print the whole record you must first expand all categories.
Collapse panel 1. Cemetery Location & Access
 
Cemetery ID:  11993
Cemetery Name:  Zhashkiv Mass Grave II (Bahva Mlyn mill)
Location Vis-À-Vis Above Named Town:   
Address 1:  Berestova ravine
Address 2: 
Latitude:  49.10505 
Longitude:  30.41386 
View this Cemetery in Google Maps
Accessed By:   
Details Of Access:  The mass grave is located along the road from Sorokotyaha to Zhashkiv, near the Bagwe-Mlyn mill (marked on topographic maps), in the field. Drive about half way across the field from Zhashkiv to Pobiyna village, on the right there is the mass grave, close to a birch and a fir tree. There is a memorial stele with an inscription at the site.
Area Map: 
Cemetery Opening Hours:  open all the time
Currently In Use:  No
 
Collapse panel 2. Information on the Jewish Community
 
City/Town/Village Name:  Zhashkiv
Alternative Names:  Zasashkhov, Żaszków (Polish), Жашків - Zhashkiv (Ukrainian), Жашков - Zhashkov (Russian), זאשקאוו, Zashkov (Yiddish)
Country:  Ukraine
Region:  Zhashkivskyi Raion - Cherkasy Oblast
Latitude:  49.245458 
Longitude: 30.120114 
View this Town in Google Maps
Current General Population:  10000 - 25000
Current Jewish Population:  10 - 1000
Jews Of This Town Buried Elsewhere:   
Date Earliest Known Jewish Community:  17th century
Date Last Known Jewish Community:   
Jewish Population Before World War II:  10 - 1000
Noteworthy Historical Events Involving
Or Affecting The Jewish Community:  The Jewish community of Zhashkiv appeared in the 17th century. In 1863, there were 556 Jews, 1,533 Orthodox Christians and 52 Roman Catholics. In 1897, the Jewish population of Zhashkiv grew to 2,445 residents (47,2%). In the late 19th century, Joel Kelmanovich Tilchinskiy installed a sugar mill and a brewery and a distillery operated. In 1865, there was a Jewish house of worship, and by the early 20th century, three synagogues operated. From 1899, the rabbi in Zhashkiv was Simcha Kagan. In 1912, a Jewish savings and loan association was opened.
In the summer of 1918, a pogrom was arranged by peasant rebel troops, and a few Jews were killed. The following pogrom was organized by troops of the Red Army and about 10 Jews were killed. The Jewish population also suffered from the pogroms of the Volunteer Army and as a result, it had declined to 393 people by 1923. In the 1920-30s, a Jewish elementary school operated in the town.
Following the outbreak of WWII, many Jews went to the front or were evacuated but the majority stayed in Zhashkiv. On July 19, 1941 the town was occupied by the Nazis. At the end of July or in early August 1941, an open ghetto was set up in one of the central streets. In summer, about 300 Jews were shot near Bavyazhskaya mill, not far from the brick factory. In spring 1942, all able-bodied Jews were sent to a labour camp (possibly in Buky), and the rest - about 100 people - were shot in a quarry about 1km east of the village. According to other data, in 1942, in the wooded area of Berestov, between the villages of Petrovka and Ohmatov, about 150 Jews were shot. In total, around 500 Jews from Zhashkiv were murdered during the Holocaust.
Jews From This Town Are Also Known
To Be Buried In:   
Jews From This Town Are Also Known
To Be Buried Comments: 
Jewish Community Denomination/s:   
Notable Natives Of The Local Jewish Community:  Samuel Kramer (1897-1990), one of the world's leading Assyriologists and a world renowned expert in Sumerian history.
Additional Comments:  After 1945, some Jews returned to Zhashkiv. In 1993, a Jewish community was organized. In 1998, there were about 70 Jews in the town.
 
View Local Places of Jewish Interest (currently no information for this site)
View Town/Jewish Community Data Sources (currently no information for this site)
View Distance from Other Towns (currently no information for this site)
 
Collapse panel 3. Location, Markers, Access & Security
 
Description Of Cemetery Location:  agricultural/fields
Situated:  on flat land
Isolation Detail:   
Additional Details:  The mass grave is marked with a stone plate, 3m x 1.5 m. in size, with a granite plaque on top of it with the inscription: "Вічна пам’ять замученим та вбитим, що лежать у цій землі”. – Eternal memory to the tortured and murdered who were buried here. On the right, there is a carved cross, surrounded by a star of David, which has almost been erased.
Road / Entrance Sign:  No
Language Of Sign:   
Sign Text:   
Photo Of Sign: 
Identifiable Features On Sign:   
The Sign Mentions:   
Cemetery Entrance:   
Inscription On:   
Inscription Text: 
Cemetery Boundary:   
Additional Comments:  In the 1990s, the. stone stele at the site of execution was fenced. In 2010, the fence does not exist anymore.
Access:   
The Cemetery Is Visited:   
Visited By:   
Current Owner Of Cemetery:   
 
View Cemetery Contacts (currently no information for this site)
 
Collapse panel 4. Current Use / Condition Status / Cemetery Specific Characteristics
Collapse panel 5. Tombstones, Memorial Markers & Structures
Collapse panel 6. Burials Register
Collapse panel 7. Ecological Decay & Vandalism
Collapse panel 8. Maintenance & Restoration
Collapse panel 9. Protected Status
Collapse panel 10. Condition Report
Collapse panel 11. Details of Data Sources
Collapse panel 12. Additional Information
BACK
NEW SEARCH
HELP


To submit corrections or further details on this record, please click here. Please remember to include the cemetery ID number, which can be found at the top of this record.